End of Summer Garden

29 Sep

It’s the end of the summer….And that makes me unbelievably sad. It took me 3 weeks, but I have finally accepted it. And now I am ready for fall!

I had a great gardening year this summer. All four of my tomato plants produced a lot of fruit, and my basil has never been bigger.

The garden from the backside

Above is the garden from the backside- jalapeno on the bottom, tomatoes along the right, WALL of basil in the back!! Oh and my little mint pot on the left 🙂

Full view in front of garden

Above and below you can see how tall the basil is. I am roughly 5 ft 4 so you can see that some of the basil is over my head.

Basil is 5 feet tall

Below are some of the Early Girl tomatoes, and in the background you can see some green romas.

Fresh tomatoes on the vine

From the farmers market…..

Some great farmers market heirloom finds….

This is my FAVORITE heirloom tomato ever……the Ox Heart. It is most delicious with not that many seeds. Perfect with some kosher salt.

My favorite – the OxHeart

I’ve had a bowlful of these on my counter since July……it’s great to just pop a couple in your mouth whenever you want.

Bowlful of Babies

Sadly, I have started to pluck off future flowerblooms from my tomato plants since they’ll likely never get a chance at full bloom. But it’s been a great summer and I look forward to next April when I am consumed with selecting next summer’s plants and getting the garden ready to plant 🙂

Le Sigh………bring on the fall apple and pumpkin flavors!

2 Responses to “End of Summer Garden”

  1. liz kaiser October 1, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    you know what else is great with an ox heart tomato? bake an egg in it 🙂 perhaps one day you will like eggs and if that day comes you must try this super easy and tasty dish 🙂

    • lmullane October 1, 2012 at 10:50 am #

      oh totally!!!! I baked eggs in tomatoes a couple years ago. And I loved it!!!!!!!! but now, not so much. although a lil baked corn pudding in the tomato is FABULOUS.

Leave a comment

Sticky Serenity's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Stained Cookbook

Sharing stories, photos and recipes one blog post at a time

a happening life

mindfully mothering, marketing, and managing

nowimtheranman

Just another WordPress.com site